Caravan Chssis service next week!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Caravan Chssis service next week!

Well I thought it was about time I got a proper chassis service done. I found a mobile chap on t'internet who lives approx four miles away from me, who is going to do the whole lot for £60 - but that's not including anything that needs replacing, like for example brake pads, etc.

Last time I parked it up there was a lot of play on the handbrake, so I know the cable needs something doing with it. And one of the corner steadies seems difficult to wind and unwind as well. Apart from that I don't think there's much wrong with it, but I'm not an expert and it's better to get these things checked over once every couple of years or so.

I know if I leave it until the spring there will be a huge wait for a service, and several ppl have said it doesn't matter if it's done now or in the spring so I'm going for it, then I'll be ready for the Spring Meet!

For anyone else who needs to find a mobile engineer nearby, here's the link to the site I used:

http://www.approvedworkshops.co.uk/search/?url=/search
    Last edited by jayjay; 16-11-2011, 10:06.

Well I thought I'd just report back on the chassis service!

The chap came and spent an hour making sure everything on the chassis worked properly. He freed off the stiff corner steady, checked the tow hitch bolts and bearings, oiled things that should be oiled, greased things that should be greased, took off the wheels and checked the bearings and adjusted the wheel brakes, checked the wheels and torqued the wheel bolts correctly, sprayed them with protector for the winter, sorted out the hand brake (which needed adjusting), checked all the stress points on the trailer, and fixed/rewired the side lights which have never worked properly!