X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

MPV conversion and back again

Hi All,

Newbie here, so much so that I thought I'd already posted this, and now it seems to have gone so maybe I didn't after all!

Basically I run a small business that involves taking students on some trips around West Yorkshire in the Summer months. Previously we have relied on public transport, but I've been thinking about also buying a 7 seater MPV too. Now, in the off season I have quite a bit of spare time, so I've also been thinking about buying a camper van to take on trips to Europe.

My question is - how easy would it be to get an mpv that you could convert into a camper, and then back again? And also, what are the insurance implications? Is it even possible to do this? I'm not bothered about having lots of mod cons, just a basic camper would do me.

Thanks.

Looking at van/MPV conversions currently being advertised, I've seen a few that are advertised as coming with "spare" seats that can be quite easily re-fitted when needed. Not sure of the insurance implications - maybe you would have to notify them each time you changed?

Comment

Hi Stev and welcome to the forum.

I can't advise on the insurance issues as I've never done anything like this but I'm sure others can point you in the right direction.

As for the vehicle you have lots of options. You ideally want one of the larger MPVs that has fully removable seats rather than those which fold in to the floor so that you have a solid base to work with. You then have the choice of constructing a suspended platform to sleep on or else just using an airbed/campbed/mattress etc. If you look in the vehicles adapted for camping section of the forum you will find lots of examples of homemade arrangements.

There are several obvious choices in the standard MPV stable - the Citroen C8/Peugeot 807, Ford Galaxy/VW Sharan, Kia Sedona or Chrysler Voyager.