This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Condensation

I'm new to campervans (preferred name to motorhomes) though I have a lot of marine experience which is relevant. However I get conflicting messages from comments on these lists and Karen for one - who seems to have tried everything - says "No" to heaters in car adaptations.

Our Doblo High Roof campervan Doblo7's first assignment was to be a trip to France, but we've missed the good weather owing to a schedule that was tight anyway, overrunning.

Do we fit a heater and set off regardless (or to somewhere nearer home like Northumberland)? I've solved the technical problems of an installation (in my business "there is always a technical fix") and further action is pending discussions with insurers. But assuming we get a sympathetic insurer and we decide we can afford the cost of the diesel equipment, is it a good idea?

Karen presumably says "No". But I see, looking at adverts for second-hand vehicles, that many of them are based on personnel carriers ie with full windows (from cars upwards) and have heaters installed, so they are presumably used out of season. The top of the range Bilbo is an example. Are the owners of these vehicles, from humble (the vehicles, that is) to very grand indeed (grander even than Bilbos) destined to a life of stained curtains and soggy carpets?

People buy these vehicles because they want them: they drive to enjoy the scenery and arrive to do the same and not look at TV. We enjoy the garden and don't even look at TV at home, so why should we travel and live in windowless boxes on holiday? No Sir! (Madam!). One of many delights of Doblo 7 is its (pardon, his) light an airiness. Every passenger comments on this, and driving over the fells round here - on roads I hasten to mention - is a delight because one feels part of the scenery and truly expansive. Almost an open top but with climate control!