As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Have I missed anything?

Collapse
This topic is closed, however please feel free to start a new topic on the subject.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Have I missed anything?

The banner at the top of this page reminds me -

"Hello barry5 you've not been around for a while, it's great to see you back on here."

This is the first time I have been able to post anything on this forum for over three months!

Where has the time gone?

Before I gave up work a couple of years ago, I used to laugh at retired people who said that since retirement they had never been so busy. Now I know its true.

Around Christmas time, I was informed that a matter I had been pursuing since March 2009 was to be heard at a Public Inquiry starting on the first of March. This meant that I had to prepare my case, chase up a large number of witnesses and educate them in the form that their statements and evidence need to take, mug up on case law, (I am not a lawyer by the way), look for holes in the other side's case (being prepared by a solicitor and to be presented by their barrister) and generally psyche myself up to present the case to the Inspector.

Then in January I learnt that two other matters in which I had an interest were also to be the subject of Public Inquiries in March! Although only appearing as a witness, more research required ....

Meanwhile, my good ladywife is nagging "when are you going to take your head out of that computer and come away in the 'van?"

At least there was no time to be bored.

We did manage to get away between the second and third Inquiries and spent about 12 days whistle stop touring Chester, Castleton, Buxton and Clumber Park, before retuning home to dust the suit, collar and tie off again and face an Inspector.

Now that is all over, I should be relaxing, but then pigs might fly ...