As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Screw-in awning pegs

Collapse
This topic is closed, however please feel free to start a new topic on the subject.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Screw-in awning pegs

The secondhand awning I've bought has screw-in pegs. I've never used them before. Does anyone know if you actually screw them in or just bash-em like any old peg...? And are they OK for hard-standings...?

Doug

I haven't used them but have been looking into them recently. The general idea I got is that if on hard standing, you screw them in using a corded or cordless drill (take a charged spare battery) and that they grip better, although some reviews said just to bash them in using a lump hammer and forego the extra grip given by the thread. Some reviews suggested taking a slightly smaller masonry drill bit to make a pilot hole first to help get them in straight. I guess on grass they can just be hammered in.

In the end I bought normal hard standing hammer in pegs.

Incidentally, lots of people suggest buying the longest coach bolts you can find, and some washers, and using them as drill in pegs at a fraction of the cost of proper ones.
    Why not have a look at my latest wildlife photos, habitat projects and general natural world related shenanigans? https://facebook.com/Watsonswildlife

Comment

I had a chat about these with the sales staff at TAM Leisure camping supplies,they said,the idea is to screw them in with a rechargable drill,You can get a hand grip if you dont want a drill but its not very good.The yellow plastic ones are OK on soft ground,but you need the metal ones on hardstanding,dont hammer them,the plastic ones will snap and the metal ones will bend.The Metal are best especially with the 24inch extension socket and a high torque drill.they are very good if you have back trouble or can kneel down.Pricey!
      Young men sow wild oats.Old men grow sage.

Comment