This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Nervous about propane

Hi, I'm new to motorhomes (thanks to all who made me feel so welcome on this forum yesterday). I'm having lots of fun but am nervous about using the propane gas, so I haven't yet cooked in my Romahome, nor used the fridge or tried the heating. I'm not a nervous type usually but once I saw a houseboat explode because the guy who lived on it didn't re-attach the gas bottle properly. The gas settled in the bottom of the boat, a spark caused the explosion and he and his wife drowned. They were really sensible people and had lived on the boat for years so I couldn't understand how he could get it so wrong. It has made me very twitchy about propane, but I am determined to get over this and enjoy my van to the full. How can I be sure that bottled gas is safe to use? My van is a 1996 Hitop. Thanks.

I guess you just need to make sure that everything is correctly connected when you put the gas bottle on.

You have heard of one terrible tragedy but thousands of people use gas bottles safely every day with no problems.

People get killed crossing the road but it doesn't stop you crossing the road does it? Don't let this one terrible incident spoil your fun, enjoy your motorhome.

Incidentally we have our gas and electric checked every year by Ant at Avon Motor Caravans Ltd.
    Graham
    Did you know you can follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter or you can visit us at our Website

Comment

Hi Sue,

I can understand your concern, especially after what you've seen happen to others. Would it be possible for you to get a service engineer to inspect the gas regulator and pipes, and show you how to safely use it?

Do you have a separate outside gas locker for the bottle? It's pretty safe out there. The regulators these days are really good as well, for that very reason. There are also separate gas taps inside the 'van, so the gas only goes through when you want it.