X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Romahome or Bambi?

Hello!

I'm VERY new to all this, but am looking at buying a 1980s Bedford Romahome or Bambi to take on a tour of England, complete with musical instruments and 2 (tall) people. Does anyone have any advice on which to go for? Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Fran

I'd always go for a Romahome. They are made of GRP and waterproof/rotproof. The Bambis are coachbuilt and so elderly now, I wouldn't buy one of those because so many are damp (or getting there)... apols to all who own Bambis! No offence meant.

Comment

Although new to campervanning, I am impressed with our demountable Romahome. The demountable bit, ie the fibreglass pod that we live in, is early 1980s we think, but the truck that carries it is a 2004 Suzuki Carry pickup. What this means, of course, is that we can keep our pod forever and just update the truck ... Great!

We are two adults (short) and two dogs (medium). Tall people can stand up in the cooking area, but even we have to bend a bit in the living space.

I agree with jayjay, the Bambis are getting a bit old now, but we met a 25 year old one a couple of weeks ago and it seemed to be in very good order.

Happy hunting and welcome to the forum!

Angela

Comment

Thanks, both of you. I hadn't clicked that the pod could be attached to different pick-ups - that's made up my mind!

Fran x

Comment

My £0.02

Bambi everytime.

It is a Tardis compared the Romahome, and seems more of a quality build inside. Any damage to the GRP can more of a issue to repair, compared to the aluminium panels of the Bambi.

But, of course, your call.
          Last edited by zaphod; 10-09-2010, 09:29.
          Happiness is a palace on two wheels.

Comment

What puts me off either of these is having to get out of the front to go in the back. I love my Autosleeper Frisky 'cos I can just walk through, no waste of the front seats because they become part of the living area.