Leaking sun roof form hinges end

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Leaking sun roof form hinges end

hi all, a newbie here. We bought our c15 J Reg Hylo just over a month ago, drove it from Great Yarmouth to Scotland in pouring rain, no leaks as far as we could see. Went to Aviemore thean Wales, all in bad weather and didn't spot a leak. But! What we assumed were condensation drips on the sink area has turned out to be a slow steady leak during wet weather coming in around the inner seal at the hinges end of the sun roof. The previous owner didn't mention this so I wonder if it's new. I have good silicone sealant so was going to put that on the edges of the external seal but before I do, any thoughts, is this a common fault? Otherwise our pod was cosy and dry apart from those drips on sink area during a storm a few weeks ago so this has come as a shock. We are parked on a slight slope with the sunroof end being at the bottom, would this cause water to seep down if it had been building up in the seal? We've only opened the sun roof once, when trying out all the bits and bobs when we bought it. Ideas for cure and cause!

Hi Judy,

Before using any sealant, try completely removing the sunroof glass and thoroughly cleaning all around the rubbers that are left in place on the roof.. The glass part does come right out. You can then stick your head through the hole and pretend to be a tank commander, but I digress....