This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

C15 or Demountable?

I have been lurking on this forum for quite some time now, and have learned so much from all you experienced Romahomers, but now I need some advice.

I have a (very) limited budget to spend on a motorhome. It will be used for travelling to and staying at dog shows, both in the UK and Europe. Just me and several small dogs - the Romahome is ideal, not just cost-wise, but because I can secure travelling crates easily. (Some of the posher motorhomes have surprisingly little room inside!)

My budget is around £4000. Would I be better going for a C15 base vehicle or a demountable on a Suzuki/Daihatsu pick-up? And will the latter fit on a more modern Piaggio if I come into money? I've read some pretty scary things on this forum about C15s that aren't what they seem - I'm no mechanic and wouldn't recognise a van that had been cobbled together from separate parts

For the price I would appear to be able to buy a newer demountable - but is the C15 more reliable, even if older? I've had Citroens in the past and been very happy with them.

Any help gratefully received

Sheila

its the other way round Sheila,the demountables are older,much.the C15 is a good van as long as you stay out of low emmision zones,`cos it has an older style engine.
    £4000 will possibly buy you a 10 year old Berlingo! Look at the prices on Ants website.
    If you come into money you can always trade up with a Romahome dealer like Ant,or Freeborn.

Hope this helps
    Ian
    Young men sow wild oats.Old men grow sage.

Comment