This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

help with buying a bedford romahome

Hi everyone, this is my first time here.

Im looking to buy a bedford romahome and would like some advice on what to look out with them...i.e common faults, good or bad models ect ect.

I think i want a bedford (or similar) because i like the idea of a kind of multi purpose vehicle. None of the ones i have seen advertised seem to have the jack legs or stedies i believe they are called.

I have seen many comments on here about them but is there anywhere now that sells them or anyone known that makes them?

Thanks chris

We had a Bambi which is a coach built camper on a Bedford Rascal pick-up.

This was a great little vehicle, albeit a bit on the slow side, but great for camping. The down side was it’s permanently on the vehicle, and as i need a van for work it added up to another lot of Tax and insurance each year.

We sold this and bought a Demountable Romahome Camping pod and fix this onto a 53 plate 1.3 Suzuki carry pick-up at weekends and change it over with a Luton Box van pod for work during the week.

This too is a great little camper and is comparable to the Bambi, although you can't gain access from the cab like you could in the Bambi, but on the back of the Suzuki it’s a "pocket rocket". Also being fibreglass there is a lot less risk of a leak.

If you can afford it look out for the Romahome pod and put it on a later 1.3 Suzuki, Piaggio or similar.

Comment

I also meant to say, you get demountable Romahome's on all of the small pick up's, like the Suzuki / Bedford / Vauxhall Rascal (all the same vehicle differant badge) Piaggio Porter, Toyora Hi jet, Honda Acty etc.

and also on the later Pick ups.

I also daw one on a VW pick up like the Ford P100 !

Comment

so does that mean if i buy 1 like this

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/bedford-ra...ht_1416wt_1139