First timer going solo this year

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First timer going solo this year

I will be going solo this year and as a woman over 60 I was wondering if its safe to do and would love any advice you can give me I have a Bambi and two little dogs who are far from guard dogs I would like to travel up to Scotland in stages and do it as cheap as possible
    Are there other women who have perhaps joined up in a sort of convoy or met up at sites along the way
    what precautions should I take and where should I avoid going to or staying at.
    I await any replies from you.
    annie the BCWench

Hi,
    I'm fairly new to solo camping in my Romahome R20 and travel with a very wimpy whippet who's definitely not a guard dog. I don't wild camp but have found it possible to camp quite cheaply using Camping and Caravan Club sites as their rates are per person and they offer an older person discount.
    I haven't had any issues re safety and really enjoyed a big trip last summer, travelling up to Scotland and the Outer Hebrides and staying away nearly seven weeks. I took a couple of short trips before to iron out any teething troubles and to find out what worked and what didn't. I've written about it all on my blog which you might find helpful.
    If you check on the forum Empyrean has talked about the possibility of loosely joint trips (loosely as in not joined at the hip)
    I hope you enjoy your solo camping as much as I do!

Whippety

http://www.whippetywanderings.co.uk

Comment

Hi Annie, welcome to the forum.

I camp on my own with an elderly collie/lab cross. I have a Romahome C15 at present but am about to get a bigger m/home to give us more comfort.