Zig Unit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Zig Unit

Hi folks, I'm new to Romahoming. My 2008 Romahome Hylo has a Zig Marque 1 unit with 3 on/off switches on the right, Pump/Lights/Aux. On the left it has one switch with 3 positions, Car/Off/Caravan.
    How do I use this switch? If the Romahome is stationary with the engine not running and the mains plugged in, in the OFF position will BOTH the car and caravan batteries be charging, or no charging take place at all?
    Sorry to ask such a basic question. Thanks. GeeCee

Hi GeeCee

Welcome to the forum, this question has come up before but I can't find the thread relating to it but here is my take, others may be along later.

When the van is on a campsite we put our switch to caravan when we are travelling we put the switch to car and when we aren't doing either we put it off.

I hope that is right.
    Graham
    Did you know you can follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter or you can visit us at our Website

Comment

I have managed to find the thread that I was looking for so you can read what the master himself has to say on the subject.

http://www.smallmotorhome.co.uk/foru...read.php?t=507
      Graham
      Did you know you can follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter or you can visit us at our Website

Comment

We leave ours on caravan all the time and have had no problems.

Comment

Ditto. I also leave the other 3 switches on, but take care not to leave a caravan light on when parked for days at home to drain the leisure battery.

The engine will charge the leisure battery when travelling with the switches in this or any other position.

Nothing in the caravan will drain the vehicle battery.

An EHU will charge the leisure battery via the Zig unit, but not the vehicle battery.

Comment

Hi GeeCee.