Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Jump Starters

Hi Ant have you any views on Jump Starters as I was wondering which was the
    best of the reasonable priced ones ? I was thinking in terms of £50 to £60 or thereabouts ?
    Gunerdoo Do It Tomorrow ?

Originally posted by gunerdoo View Post
    Hi Ant have you any views on Jump Starters as I was wondering which was the
    best of the reasonable priced ones ? I was thinking in terms of £50 to £60 or thereabouts ?
    Sorry to hijack this thread , but I recently got one for my van at about £35 .. look for offers on the internet, for Tesco/Sainsbury's etc ... mine has cigarette lighter sockets too so I can run stuff from it as well.
    I make occasional visits to reality, but I'm not a full time resident
    http://minimouseandmilos.blogspot.com

Comment

Hi Gunerdoo.
      I'm afraid I have little experience of jump starters on the retail market ( Mine has wheels and cost over £400 !). I think go for the best cranking figures and the heaviest leads, diesels especially require quite a bit of turning over and if the leads are too thin they just get hot and the engine is not turned over fast enough to start. If you ever get a jump start from another vehicle remember to turn your lights on before trying to start the vehicle. I know that sounds a bit odd but it stops the doner vehicles alternator from spiking your vehicles "ecu" ( brains) with a damaging voltage.
      Ant

Comment

May I add to Ant's as-usual great advice - if time allows, any of these packs, connected across the battery and just left while you have a brew-up can work wonders.

Bear in mind that a cold diesel engine can take probably 600 amps to turn over from the battery - and if that current needs to come from the starter pack, it is trying to come through those thin serated teeth on the pack connectors.