Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What Gas to use

Hi Ant
    As you know I am new to the Romahome way of life and love it, through lack of experience especialy winter camping what is the best gas to use in the winter that doesn't freeze? also to allow me to purchase in France and Spain, any advise would be gratefully received.
    Thanks for your advise on this matter.
    Gadgetman......... (Bryan)
    'Live without regrets'

Hi Bryan.
    Camping gaz is available in Europe but sadly it is Butane based which means it is not very good in very cold conditions. Propane ( red cylinders) gas is the best tyupe to use in the cold weather, but Calor gas in the UK is not interchangable with the European cylinder.
    So If in Europe take Camping Gaz otherwise use Propane if you can fit the bottle in your locker.
    Ant

Comment

Hi Ant,

Thought I would tag this onto this thread as it's the same subject..

I have just exchanged an antique gas bottle (the seller said he hadn't seen them for around 20 years!) for a new propane gas lite + new regulator. I need (according to the instructions) a spanner to tighten, which they didn't tell me about at the place I bought it from. Is it the same as an ordinary propane to connect up? What size spanner do I need (the instructions just say 'always use the correct sized spanner').

Also, I thought I had it all figured out and connected up ok but when I went to switch on the gas, it started ...well, sort of whistling? and there was a smell of gas, so I switched it off again, quickly! LOL!

It's not as easy as the camping gaz tiny things I used to use in the camper, they just screwed on. This has a screw as well, but does it have to screw in all the way or just until it's tight and then another tighten with a spanner? How hard can it be I keep telling myself.....