Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cracked roof !

Hi Ant,
    I clouted the roof of my HyLo on a solid hight barrier. After cleaning off the black paint scraped onto my roof, I found a minute crack in the surface of the roof top. It's pretty hairline, about 1cm long. Is it likely to leak at that point, or is there enough thickness to be O.K. ?
    Alan

I'm not an expert, but I reckon any crack will take in moisture and then freeze and get worse in winter, so you'd be better sealing it somehow. Was it on here someone recommended 'Captain Tolley's Creeping Crack Cure'?

Comment

That was us!! We used it on a leak around the window in our old van, worked a treat. I does what is say, creeps into the crack!!
      Why not have a look at my latest wildlife photos, habitat projects and general natural world related shenanigans? https://facebook.com/Watsonswildlife

Comment

Hi Alan.
        The Romahome body has a double gel-coat so it's un likely to leak with a small hairline crack in the outer layer, however a creeping crack seal wouldn't do any harm just to stop anything making it worse in the winter.
        Ant

Comment

Goes to show that even the hylo is not necessarily safe with these height barriers. I'll bet you were cross.
          Carpe diem! :)

Comment

Originally posted by ant View Post
            Hi Alan.
            The Romahome body has a double gel-coat so it's un likely to leak with a small hairline crack in the outer layer, however a creeping crack seal wouldn't do any harm just to stop anything making it worse in the winter.
            Ant
            Hi Ant I have just found a crack on my 1year old R20 hi top I'm booked in with you for 1st servicing on the 4th Nov please can you have a look at it for me and maybe fix it for me. I'm coming down from Farnham.
            Thanks Ant
            Camper man (Tony)

Comment

Thanks for the advise Ant.