Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Eberspracher Heater - what should we expect?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Eberspracher Heater - what should we expect?

Hi
    We have a 2009 R20 with the Eberspracher heater unit. We don't seem to get much heat from it before it gives out - maybe 20-30 minutes in total. It stops heating moreo or less when the battery gauge is on the very end of the green section. This looks to be well above the 11.something volts that the unit should operate down to. Is this as much as we should expect?

We had a larger capacity leisure fitted in the hope that this would extend the amount of time we could get heat but it hasn't really helped at all. It's quite frustrating, given that we are still getting heavy snow falls up here in Scotland!

I'm no expert, but it doesn't sound right to me. Mine belches out the heat after about 5-minutes warming-up time and very quickly the van becomes very warm. I assume your thermostat isn't set too low so it's reaching temperature and then cutting out?!

I have one in my van and it's brilliant. I've used it in -12 deg and it's heated up the van rapidly to about 16 deg (the max I could tolerate) after just 10-15 minutes and the Romahome insulation retains the heat for hours. TBH I've never left my heater running for longer than about 20 minutes on its thermostat - I'm not a great van of heat and prefer simply to take the chill off the air then, in temperatures below -10 I leave it on overnight with the thermostat on the lowest setting and it kicks in 2-3 times.

Comment

Originally posted by Callander Girl View Post
      Hi