Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

240v

Good evening all,
    I have a free view flat screen TV 16" and a digital plug in aerial. My outlook 2003 only has one plug socket in the rear... now tell me if imp being stupid as I’m not great with electrics Can I put an extension lead with 2 plug sockets on and run TV and plug-in aerial off the socket. Obviously I’m only using with 240 hook up attached. If the answer is yes, does that mean if I’m attached to 240v plug in I can run numerous appliances off an extension lead?
    I apologies again, but I am a novice at these things... Alex

Originally posted by alex1968 View Post
    Good evening all,
    I have a free view flat screen TV 16" and a digital plug in aerial. My outlook 2003 only has one plug socket in the rear... now tell me if imp being stupid as I’m not great with electrics Can I put an extension lead with 2 plug sockets on and run TV and plug-in aerial off the socket. Obviously I’m only using with 240 hook up attached. If the answer is yes, does that mean if I’m attached to 240v plug in I can run numerous appliances off an extension lead?
    I apologies again, but I am a novice at these things... Alex
    The straight answer is "yes", as long as you do not exceed the capacity in Amps of the extension lead or EHU.
    The sensible answer is "no". Unless you want to have an accident with leads trailing all over a confined space! At the very least you could trip yourself up and injure yourself, or pull something expensive off its perch. At worst you could trip over the wires and snap a wire to electrocute yourself!
    It should not be very expensive to install extra sockets in suitable positions. MUCH safer!
    My opinion anyway.
    Jim.
    Last edited by Twolitre; 15-08-2011, 21:46.
    Keeping people waiting is stealing a part of their lives.

Comment

Thanks for your advice, point taken, Ill be very careful and arrange for aditional sockets to be fitted!

Comment

Jim is spot on.