C15 Romahome braking question...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

C15 Romahome braking question...

Hello, I've had 1992 C15 a Romahome for a while now, best described as 'gently rusting'. I've run a classic car in the past (Triumph Vitesse Mk1), so I have some experience of heavy steering and 'no brakes', which brings me to my question...

Is there any improvement in the braking of the C15 with certain brake pads, I was reliably informed by the previous owner hat the braking system was overhauled (which seemed to be borne out by receipts), however the braking performance is still not good.

I've read on another forum that EBC green stuff pads used on a C15 van improved the braking, any advice much appreciated...

I think you will find simiar comments to mine that the C15 brakes are something else ! They do work but they take their time so you brake in plenty of time.

Comment

Welcome to the forum, mjob. You'll find folk here very friendly and only too happy to help with queries such as yours.

Di.

Comment

The C15 does have a break problem, but it does stop in the end especially when you get used to them, give the vehicle in front plenty room, I mean plenty room, I had the same problem and posted it on here some years back. I tried different pads, no difference at all.
        Gadgetman......... (Bryan)
        'Live without regrets'

Comment

The secret is to find someone who really understands brakes and for them to adjust the rear brakes very carefully, making sure that the load sensing valve is correctly adjusted and not seized. (If it is seized you do not need a new one just patience and WD40 or other penetrating type oil. Just having the brakes overhauled is not enough, it is the careful adjustment that is the key

Peter

Comment