c15 conversion

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

c15 conversion

Hi everyone I'm a new member. I'm a newly retired carpenter and have a Citroen c15 with 64,000 miles only. I want to remove the rear body shell and
    replace it with romahome type conversion, wood framed with ply internal walls and externally skinned with ally/ tin or upvc sheet. I have previous
    experience working in the touring caravan and a little experience in small motorhome industry although a few years ago but I'm not up on current .rules and regulations. Has anyone previously done a similar conversion, if anyone has any help, advice or plans to see if this project is practical. I would really appreciate any help with this project thanks ken

Hi and welcome

Sounds like hard work to me, why not sell your van and buy a second hand c15 Romahome instead. We’ve got three hitops and a Hylo advertised for private sale on our website.

http://www.smallmotorhome.co.uk/smal...-for-sale.html

Graham
    Did you know you can follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter or you can visit us at our Website

You can also help the forum by shopping online at Amazon using this link

Comment

Hi Ken and welcome to this site.
      I hate to put a damper on someone's ideas, but have you read the Post by BrianB it is a Stickie on the RomaHome Chat board.
      The RomaHome C15 was based on the C15 pick-up not the van, it is my understanding that the pick-up has beefier suspension and a different chassis rails.
      I think even if you overcame the suspension / chassis problems the next problem would be the wood frame, ply and aluminium skin body and furniture may be substantially heavier than the GRP body and GRP furniture of the Romahome.
      What your options are I am unsure. All I am saying is do your research before "chopping" a good van and embarking on an unworkable project.
      Jon
      Last edited by kernowjon; 23-11-2017, 05:28 PM.
      Amor omnia vincit et nos cedamus amori