This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello everyone & can you help me chose?

Hello - I'm a new driver about to buy my first vehicle *excitement* and I really want to get a micro camper. I've been googling away and reading up for days and have got a short list: Bedford Bambi, Rascal or Danbury? Citreon C15 HYLO or hightop?

Can anyone advise me? I need to occassionally drive on motorways and I think power steering would be sensible. So I'm guessing this rules out the Bedfords?

The hylo seems like a solid mini camper?

Any tips appreciated.
    Thanks
    Karen

Welcome Karen,
    it's exciting getting your first vehicle.
    Very difficult to give absolute advice as it depends on the driver and what you want the vehicle to do.
    To be honest most of the Bambi, Rascal , Honda Acty types are getting a little old and are usually a bit underpowered to be using on the motorway.
    Unless they have had a recon engine or very pampered life. Rust is also a problem and it can be difficult to get parts.
    A demountable Romahome MK5 with the slanty windows are nice especially if you get one on a newer Daihatsu hi-jet with the 1.3 petrol. Campton insurance are competitive on price and know there subject.
    C15's are economical and nicer to drive long distances but rust can be a problem in mainly the older one's. It depends how much you can afford.
    You need someone to check them out for you really. Power steering is available on late 90's C15 but they are a lot dearer. In normal driving older C15's are light on the steering you just need to keep moving slowly while trying to park . Rear view is quite bad and reversing sensors help alot when parking.
    Try as many as you can and if you can wait til late early winter you will save hundreds of £'s

Comment